Oregon is an at-fault car accident state, but it is a little different from most. Oregon drivers are required to carry at least $15,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) as part of their car insurance. PIP covers you and your passengers when injured in a car accident, even if you are at fault. PIP pays for medical expenses, lost income or household services, and childcare.
Personal Injury Protection
The medical coverage portion of PIP kicks in immediately. If you have only purchased the minimum required by Oregon law, it covers up to $15,000 in medical bills per person, but the coverage cuts off two years after the accident even if you haven’t used up the $15,000. Many insurers offer a higher amount of coverage.
PIP covers a portion of your lost income, if you are required to take at least two weeks off work. It will pay 70% of your lost income up to $3,000 per month and the payment are not taxable. You can receive up to 52 weeks of lost income pay, and it does not have to be consecutive. If you do not normally earn an income, you can receive up to $30 per day to pay for essential services around the house that you would have performed if you were not injured.
Whether or not earn you normally an income, you can also receive $25 per day for childcare, up to $750.
Seeking Additional Compensation
If you have been seriously injured, PIP will not be enough to cover your medical expenses and lost income. In any case, PIP does not pay for pain and suffering and other noneconomic damages. To receive full compensation for your injuries, you will need to seek compensation from the at-fault driver, and you’ll need the help of an experienced Oregon car accident attorney to win.
To learn more about Oregon car accidents and compensation for your injuries, please call the Law Office of J. Clay McCaslin at 503-239-1910 or email us today and schedule your free initial consultation.