If you have purchased the minimum insurance required by law for drivers in Oregon, you have coverage above the other driver’s policy limits. You even have some coverage if the other driver was not insured at all. Oregon requires all drivers to carry insurance that includes uninsured motorist coverage. This is specific to pay for your injuries if the at-fault driver was uninsured or underinsured.
To learn more about how to recover maximum compensation for your injuries, talk to an experienced Oregon car accident attorney right away.
How Does the “Underinsured” Part Work?
The minimum liability coverage required for bodily injury, in Oregon, is $25,000 per person up to $50,000 per crash. That won’t go far if you were seriously injured. You could easily rack up $100,000 or more in costs for your injuries.
Uninsured motorist coverage includes underinsured coverage. That means that you can collect more from your insurance company, to cover what the at-fault driver’s insurance doesn’t cover. And, in Oregon the coverage is stackable, which means that both the at-fault driver’s coverage and your coverage can be used to pay for your injuries.
The minimum uninsured coverage is also $25,000, in Oregon. So, if both you and the at-fault driver were carrying the minimum insurance required, you may be covered for up to $50,000. Of course, you do have the option of purchasing coverage above the minimum, but you will have had to have purchased it before your crash for it to apply.
If you were hurt by an uninsured or underinsured motorist, call the Law Office of J. Clay McCaslin at 503-239-1910 or email us today and schedule your free initial consultation and learn more about how you can recover full compensation for your injuries.